PDA

View Full Version : [Tips] Proper Recon Squad

Onil
September 25th, 2015, 12:43 AM
First of all, I will explain my PR Background as the basis for these Tips or Guidelines. If you're only interested in the tips and don't care if they're actually based on real experience, just jump to point 3 or 4.

1. My PR Background:

I started playing PR around v0.5 and joined a clan where I created my first PR recon squad and trained a few of its members. After a while, some of us joined the Official PR Tournament (PRT) in which I participated in 4 campaigns, (C6,C7,C8,C9) in the CATA Team.

I was a grunt in C6 but got noticed for being effective behind enemy lines, so I was invited by the commander to create a specialized recon squad for C7. I created and lead Cougars from C7 to C9 which proved to be extremely effective and a huge annoyance to the enemy.

I also lead the Advanced Logistics & Trainings Division of CATA where I developed an extensive list of specialization courses that any player could take. When the PRT closed, I accepted an invite to join another clan, where once again, I created a recon squad, recruited a few members and trained them.

In 2013 I created a group for players interested in recon, independently of clan affiliation, to train and play together. I trained a few guys and we continue to play together up to this day.

2. My Gaming Style:

Over-all, I'm an extremely serious player no matter if I'm playing in a public server or in a tournament. I'm quite strict in terms of structure and standards and I believe that no matter how skilled, how experienced or how much knowledge you might have, there is always something to learn, to improve, to practice. However, most players tend to stop training after they reach a comfortable level of skill. Those rarely fit into a Recon squad.

3. Defining a Recon Squad:

A Recon Squad is a Specialized unit focused on reconnaissance, ambush, sabotage, disruptive tactics and, on occasion, logistics.